Posted in Therapy

Who Gives A List?

After all these years, I have realized that LISTS DON’T WORK for me.

Life is too short for me to live by to-do lists, chore lists and idea lists.

Let’s just say I want to do 5 or 6 AWESOME things on any given day. But I only get to 1 of them. So what? Who cares?

Life will go on

The world is not going to end.

If I feel like cleaning the toilet bowl….I will

If the carpet doesn’t get vacuumed for several days…..big deal

If I wanted to attend a YOGA class or catch a movie at the theater, but I didn’t…..doesn’t matter.

 

Sometimes we as human beings talk about great plans and then they just don’t happen.

Like that song by The Rolling Stones says, “You can’t always get what you want. But if you try sometimes, you just might find you get what you need.” Or another song by Graham Nash where he says, “If you can’t be with the one you love, love the one you’re with.”

 

These words hold true for these so-called LISTS

 

I try too hard to organize every little detail down to this systematic lists of things I must do, why?

 

I don’t need a list to tell me what to do

In other words…..Just Do It….like NIKE says

 

And that….my friend….will make me much happier!  🙂

 

 

List

 

Author:

Writer, Poet and Music geek

Leave a Reply

